I am Not my Hair..

It was a rainy, humid day and any girl with curly hair already Knows that = FRIZZ ! There was no way for me to combat these frizzy locks so on days like this it’s sleek bun or rock it out Diana Ross style.. I was feelin’ the big hair that day so I went with it. When I arrived to work my co-worker of Dominican descent comments, “You got that good curly hair.” Shocked, I thought to myself he is out of his mind my hair looks crazy but the second, more important thought that came to my head.. “what does good curly hair even mean??” I am shocked to think that there are good and bad types of curly hair. I am thrilled when I see a female rockin’ the curls- any style/cut/color..natural is always the way to be. Knowing that in some countries people are judged by the hair on their head, putting them in boxes like that really upsets me. I do not believe there is such thing as “good” hair. I do believe that there is beauty in every curl, in every hair type, in every person.

Quoting one of my favorite artists India Arie in her song, ” I am not my Hair ”

“Does the way I wear my hair make me a better person?

Does the way I wear my hair make me a better friend? Oh

Does the way I wear my hair determine my integrity?

I am expressing my creativity..”

Leave a Reply

